Google Voice announces MMS support for Sprint customers

From the Google Voice blog: First steps Towards MMS support.

The multimedia attachments will display on their mobile forwarding phone and in their email inbox when they enable text to email forwarding in their Google Voice settings. We are also planning on making them display in the Google Voice inbox.

I put this to test just seconds after the release came out. Sure enough, I got the message. The photo I sent, however, did not come.

So emphasis on We are also planning on making them display in the Google Voice inbox.
You’ll at least get a message in Voice now, as opposed to before when the sender never knew you did not receive it and the intended recipient never knew something was sent. So I can at least write back and say, “No MMS yet, send to email.”

The only two ways right now to actually get the media in the message is if you forward your Voice messages to a regular mobile number or to your gmail account. Since I send/receive probably 50-100 messages a day on Google Voice, I’m not adding that extra layer of duplication to my life. But at least there’s progress.

